ASMS News & Views

Jul 20, 2015

Ron Hites Award

The 2015 Ron Hites Award for Outstanding Research Publication in JASMS was presented during the 2015 ASMS business meeting to Professor John S. Klassen (University of Alberta) and co-authors Lan Liu, Alyson Baergen, Klaus Michelsen, Elena N. Kitova, and Paul D. Schnier, for their paper ‘Energetics of Intermolecular Hydrogen Bonds in a Hydrophobic Cavity’ J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom. (2014) 25, 742-750. The Ron Hites award is given in recognition of an outstanding presentation of original research published in the journal in the previous two years. Selection of the award winner is based on a paper’s innovative aspects, technical quality, likely stimulation of future research, likely impact on future applications, and quality of presentation. The award is named in honor of Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of JASMS in 1988 while president of ASMS.  The principle author receives a cash award of $2,000 and all authors are acknowledged with certificates of commendation.

Ron Hites Award 2016. Application deadline is November 30, 2015. Learn more and apply today.