Al Yergey MS Scientist Award

YergeyThe Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Award is sponsored by ASMS to recognize dedication and significant contributions to mass spectrometry-based science by “unsung heroes.” This award is named in memory of Al Yergey a well-respected scientist who served 45 years at National Institutes of Health where he was known as a dedicated mentor. 2018 marked the 50th year of Al's ASMS membership. 

Nominations will be held for three years. Up to three awards ($1,000 each and a plaque) will be presented at the ASMS Annual Conference. Nominations are due November 30. Scroll down for details on nomination process.

Al Yergey MS Scientist 2022 Recipients

Yergey_AndersonGordon A. Anderson is recognized for his immense, impactful, and sustained contributions to mass spectrometry. His technical contributions, strength of character, and mentoring of junior scientists exemplify the spirit of the Al Yergey Award. Gordon is now the chief engineer of a family run enterprise (GAA Custom Electronics) that broadly serves the MS community with a range of innovative and highly functional MS-specific electronic solutions.

Yergey_GraysonMichael A. Grayson has championed the cause of history for the Society as archivist, historian, oral history interviewer, and the ASMS representative to the Heritage Council of the Science History Institute. His dedication to preserving the history of significant individuals and events has resulted in the rich resources available through Now retired, Michael continues to actively contribute to the many projects of the ASMS History Committee.

Yergey_VestlingMartha M. Vestling has contributed to MS-based research, extensive service to the MS community, and dedication to education and training of students and users from diverse scientific backgrounds for five decades. As the Director of the Mass Spectrometry Laboratory at University of Wisconsin-Madison, she has developed a “go-to” facility for researchers on campus and many other biomedical science departments and units.

Eligibility & How To Submit a Nomination

Eligibility. Nominations are open to scientists (NON-tenure track) in academic, government, non-profit, and industrial labs. Nominees must be members of ASMS.

Nominations are due November 30. 
How to Nominate. First, complete and submit the online nomination form. Second, insure that required letters are sent by email. Nomination is not complete until letters are received by info [at] asms [dot] org. Letters must be received by November 30.
Items needed to complete the online nomination form:

  1. The nominee’s current position, affiliation, and contact information;
  2. A brief statement describing the dedication and contributions of the nominee to mass spectrometry;
  3. The nominee’s CV or biographical sketch;
  4. Names and emails of two professional colleagues of the nominee who will provide a one-page letter of support.

Award recipients will be selected by a committee of members appointed by the ASMS President.

Past Recipients of the Al Yergey MS Scientist Award

2021: Mark Kushnir; Arpad Somogyi

2020: Rachel Ogorzalek Loo

2019: Jeffrey Shabanowitz