ASMS News & Views

Oct 29, 2014

20th IMSC Awards Presented

At the 20th International Mass Spectrometry Conference (IMSC 2014) held in Geneva, Switzerland from August 24-29, 2014, the Thomson Medal, named after Sir J. J. Thomson, was awarded to Prof. Dame Carol V. Robinson (University of Oxford) and Prof. Renato Zenobi (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich) “for outstanding achievements and for distinguished services to international mass spectrometry”.  Dr. Dimitris Papanastasiou (Fasmatech Science and Technology) received the Curt Brunée award for his contributions to the development of the theoretical understanding of ion behaviors and implementation of this knowledge in new devices for ion optics and ion mobility.  The Curt Brunée award is given “for outstanding contributions to the development of instrumentation for mass spectrometry by a person under the age of 45 at the time of the award”.  Prof. Yury Tsybin (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)) received the SGMS Award, given “to a promising young (under the age of 40 at the time of nomination) scientist working in Switzerland or a promising Swiss scientist working abroad, for outstanding independent research in the field of mass spectrometry.”