ASMS News & Views

Apr 18, 2013

ASMS Members Honored with Awards Around the World

Professors Michael Gelb and František Tureček from the Department of Chemistry at the University of Washington have been awarded the Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest from the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society, for their work in developing a sensitive, specific, and inexpensive technique for detecting genetic diseases in newborns.  Using the fact that certain errors in metabolism can be detected by enzymatic assays, their multiplex assay technique uses tandem mass spectrometry to identify several rare, genetic diseases such as lysosomal storage diseases using blood samples that are already routinely collected.

Professor Howard R Morris, Imperial College London has been awarded the 2012 Franklin medal and prize, for his contributions to mass spectrometer design and its applications in peptide sequencing and proteomics. The award is given biennially by the Institute for Physics, UK for distinguished research in physics applied to the life sciences including medical and biological physics.

Professor Akos Vertes from the Department of Chemistry at The George Washington University has been awarded the 2012 Hillebrand Prize by the Chemical Society of Washington (the Washington section of the ACS) for his innovative work in discerning fundamental processes in MALDI and Electrospray mass spectrometry and their applications in proteomics research and in vivo imaging.

Michael L. Gross, Professor of Chemistry, Medicine, and Immunology at Washington University in St. Louis, Principal Investigator of the NIH Mass Spectrometry Research Resource at Washington University, and Editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American Chemical Society for Mass Spectrometry, has been awarded the 2013 Eastern Analytical Symposium (EAS) Award for Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry. 

Professor Carol Robinson, Professor of Physical Chemistry, University of Oxford was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in the 2013 New Year Honours for services to science and industry. Professor Robinson is widely recognized for her ground-breaking research in mass spectrometry and as a role model for women scientists. Her awards and medals include the 2003 Biemann Medal from the American Society for Mass Spectrometry, the 2004 Rosalind Franklin Award and the 2010 Davy Medal from the Royal Society, and the 2008 Anfinsen Award from the Protein Society. In recognition of her contribution to science she was also awarded the 2011 FEBS/EMBO Woman of the Year.