Faces of Mass Spectrometry

As an initiative of the ASMS Diversity Committee, JASMS editors are pleased to share the “Faces of Mass Spectrometry” interview series. The goal of this series is to highlight the diversity of ASMS members, as well as to demonstrate the various paths that one can undertake to achieve a career in mass spectrometry.

Who Should be the Next Face of Mass Spectrometry?

We welcome nominations (and self-nominations) of members to profile in the Faces of Mass Spectrometry.


Nominate the next Face of Mass Spectrometry

Eligibility & Nomination Process: We seek to feature current ASMS members. As part of the nomination we request a 300 word (max) statement to tell us 'Why this person be highlighted in the Faces of Mass Spectrometry and/or How does this person represent diversity in the ASMS?' There is no deadline to submit a nomination (or self-nomination.) Nominations will be evaluated on an ongoing basis by the Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Nominations will be held for two years.

Published Faces of Mass Spectrometry Stories

Fabio Gomes
Scripps Research Institute
January 2022

Stefani Thomas
University of Minnesota
December 2021

Mike Lee_2021Mike Lee
Milestone Development
October 2021


Barbara Larsen
International Flavors & Fragrances
September 2021


Facundo Fernández
Georgia Institute of Technology
August 2021

Ingela Lanekoff
Uppsala University
July 2021

Carlito Lebrilla headshotCarlito Lebrilla
University of California, Davis
June 2021
JuliaBalog_headshot 72Julia Balog
Waters Corporation
May 2021
Devin Schweppe

Devin K. Schweppe
University of Washington
April 2021

L Sanchez_Feb 2021Laura Sanchez
University of California, Santa Cruz
February 2021

Prenni head shotJessica Prenni
Colorado State University
January 2021


Jace Jones
University of Maryland
January 2021

KanuA. Bakarr Kanu
Winston-Salem State University
October 2020

KirkpatrickDon Kirkpatrick 
November 2019

Nadia CechCech
University of North Carolina, Greensboro
October 2019

Veronica PinnickPinnick
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
August 2019

Judith SjobergSjoberg
ASMS / Scientific Association Management
June 2019

Stacy SherrodSherrod
Vanderbilt University
April 2019

Lingjun LiLi
University of Wisconsin, Madison 
January 2019

Joseph LooLoo
University of California, Los Angeles 
December 2018

FranciscoFernandez_Lima Fernandez-Lima
Florida International University 
November 2018

Lisa JenkinsJenkins
National Cancer Institute
October 2018

Robert 'Chip' CodyCody
August 2018

Catherine FenselauFenselau
University of Maryland, College Park
July 2018

Candice UlmerUlmer
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
June 2018

Corey BroecklingBroeckling
Colorado State University
May 2018

BadutawiahAbraham Badu-Tawiah
The Ohio State University
April 2018 

Erin BakerBaker
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
March 2018