ASMS News & Views

Oct 29, 2014

Benjamin Garcia Received the ACS Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist

Dr. Benjamin A. Garcia, Presidential Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, received the American Chemical Society Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist at the 248th ACS National Meeting held August 10-14, 2014 in San Francisco, CA. The Findeis Award is given annually to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to the fields of analytical chemistry by a young analytical scientist. Dr. Garcia obtained his BS in Chemistry at UC Davis in 2000, where he worked as an undergraduate researcher in Prof. Carlito Lebrilla’s laboratory. He then received his PhD in Chemistry in 2005 at the University of Virginia under Prof. Donald Hunt and then was an NIH NRSA Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Illinois under Prof. Neil Kelleher from 2005-2008. In 2008, he was appointed as an Assistant Professor in the Molecular Biology Department at Princeton University, prior to moving to the University of Pennsylvania in 2012. Research in the Garcia lab is focused on the development and application of novel proteomic approaches and bioinformatics for interrogating protein modifications, especially those involved in epigenetic mechanisms such as histones. Dr. Garcia has been the author or co-author of more than 115 publications, and has received funding for his research from the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Healt, and the Eli Lilly Foundation.  He is on the editorial boards for the BMC Genomics and Molecular and Cellular Proteomics journals, and serves on the Board of Directors for the U.S. Human Proteome Organization. He has also been recognized with numerous honors and awards for his mass spectrometry research including an American Society for Mass Spectrometry Research Award in 2009, an NSF early faculty CAREER award and an NIH Director’s New Innovator Award in 2010, a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in 2011, an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship in 2012, and the PITTCON Achievement Award in 2014.