Asilomar Conference Homepage

34th Asilomar Conference on Mass Spectrometry

Quantitative Analysis of Posttranslational Modifications by Mass Spectrometry

November 2 - 6, 2018

Nicolas L. Young, Baylor College of Medicine
Heather Desaire, University of Kansas

About Asilomar 2018

The quantitative analysis of post-translational modifications has become an increasingly important capacity in mass spectrometry-based proteomics. This is due to fundamental biology converging on the abundance and dynamics of post-translational modifications as essential to a myriad of processes. However, the challenges of accurate and reproducible quantitation of post-translational modifications by mass spectrometry are substantially different from protein identification or even post-translational modification identification and localization. At this conference we will address the challenges of this emerging capacity as a community, the latest methods, technology and data analysis approaches and apply them to questions ranging from fundamental biology to clinical applications.  

Sessions topics include:

  • PTMs in Systems Biology and Disease
  • Data Analysis Approaches in PTM Quantitation
  • Quantitative Analysis of Proteoforms
  • Technology Development for the Quantitation of PTMs
  • Quantitative Phosphoproteomics and signaling networks
  • Quantitative analysis of protein glycosylation
  • Quantitation of Novel and Exotic PTMs

Invited Speakers

A keynote lecture will be presented by Al Burlingame (UCSF)

Jenny Brodbelt (University of Texas, Austin)
Cathy Costello (Boston University School of Medicine)
Heather Desaire (University of Kansas)
Ying Ge (University of Wisconsin–Madison)
Albert Heck  (Utrecht University, the Netherlands)
Amanda Hummon (The Ohio State University)
Neil Kelleher (Northwestern University)
Don Kirkpatrick (Genentech)
Lingjun Li (University of Wisconsin–Madison)
Mike Maccoss (University of Washington)

Renã A. S. Robinson  (Vanderbilt University)
Lloyd Smith (University of Wisconsin–Madison)
Matt Stokes (Cell Signalling Technologies)
Jennifer Van Eyk (Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles)
Forest White (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Ronghu Wu (Georgia Tech)
Si Wu (University of Oklahoma)
John Yates (The Scripps Research Institute)
Nick Young (Baylor College of Medicine)
Yonghao Yu (UT Southwestern)

Suggest a Topic for Future Asilomar Conference

Use the Suggest a Topic Form to submit your idea today.

Asilomar Conference Free Afternoon Photos

A free afternoon can inspire. Check out how past Asilomar Conference participants took advantage of this beautiful stretch of California coast.