1995 ASMS Award for a Distinguished Contribution to Mass Spectrometry



Keith R. Jennings
University of Warwick, Coventry, England
For the discovery and application of
Collision-Induced Dissociation

The ASMS Award for a Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry recognizes a focused, singular achievement that significantly changes the practice of mass spectrometry. The 1995 Award will be presented to Professor Keith R. Jennings of the University of Warwick, Coventry, England, on May 24, at this Conference. Prof. Jennings is acknowledged for his pioneering research that led to the discovery of collision-induced dissociation (CID),

which was published in Int. J. Mass Spectrom. Ion Physics, 1968, 1, 227.

Prof. Jennings' research on metastable ions and their decompositions provided fundamental information on these phenomena and new methods by which double-focusing and later tandem mass spectrometers could be scanned for these studies. The techniques provided extensive insights into the energetics of ion fragmentation. These interests led to his study and delineation of the process in which a selected ion is collided with a gas, causing activation and subsequent fragmentation.

The technique, collision-induced dissociation or CID (sometimes called collisionally-activated decomposition or CAD) has had tremendous impact. CID forms the basis of most tandem mass spectrometric (MS MS) experiments and has been the primary tool for ion structure characterization. His research truly revolutionized mass spectrometry and allowed for the application of mass spectrometry to mixture and molecular structure analyses in numerous fields, including polymer science, natural products, drug metabolism, environmental analyses and biochemistry.

This is the sixth ASMS Award for a Distinguished Contribution. The recipient will receive a \$3,000 cash award and a recognition plaque. The presentation of this award will be made at this Conference on Wednesday morning, and will be followed by a lecture by Prof. Jennings.

1991 Michael Barber 1992 John B. Fenn 1993 Christie G. Enke & Richard A. Yost	Plasma desorption ionization Fast-atom bombardment ionization Electrospray ionization Triple quadrupole mass spectrometer Negative ion chemical ionization
---	--

The 1995 RESEARCH AWARDS

Sponsored by Finnigan Corporation

presented to



Kermit K. Murray
Emory University

Sponsored by the ASMS Research Fund ASMS, Fisons Instruments, JEOL USA Analytica, Elsevier, Extrel FTMS, Isotec presented to



Lee Sunderlin
Northern Illinois University