

ASMS AWARDS

American Society for Mass Spectrometry is pleased to announce 2020 Awards. For more details please contact info@asms.org.

JOHN B. FENN DISTINGUISHED CONTRIBUTION AWARD 2020 Recipient: Michael L. Gross

The ASMS Award for Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry honors the memory of John B. Fenn who shared the 2002 Nobel Prize for the development of electrospray Ionization. John joined ASMS in 1986 and remained an active member until his passing in 2010. The award is conferred at the ASMS Annual Conference with the presentation of a \$10,000 cash award, a recognition plaque, and the award lecture.





Dr. Michael L. Gross is the recipient of the 2020 ASMS John B. Fenn Award for a Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry, for innovative and integrative MS-based footprinting for structural proteomics. The development of Fast Photochemical Oxidation of Proteins (FPOP), whereby covalent modifications of proteins can occur with hydroxyl radicals on the microsecond time scale, enables the study of protein conformation, folding, aggregation, and the identification of extracellular domains.

Additionally, Dr. Gross combined MS with hydrogen-deuterium exchange (HDX) as a complement to FPOP for the determination of protein affinity, and he has developed protein chemistry methods for glycine ethyl ester (GEE) footprinting of side chains of aspartate and glutamate. Implementing these methods in combination has allowed significant insights to be gained with regard to many proteins with important therapeutic and clinical implications. His integrative approach is setting the standard for structural proteomics, as evidenced by its wide application in the pharmaceutical industry for the characterization of therapeutic proteins.

Dr. Gross is Professor of Chemistry and of Immunology and Internal Medicine (School of Medicine), Washington University in St. Louis.

AL YERGEY MS SCIENTIST AWARD 2020 Recipient: Rachel Ogorzalek Loo

The AI Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Award is sponsored by ASMS to recognize dedication and significant contributions to mass spectrometry-based science by "unsung heroes. This award is named in memory of AI Yergey a well-respected scientist who was known as a dedicated mentor.



Dr. Rachel Ogorzalek Loo is the 2020 recipient of the Al Yergey MS Scientist Award. She has been involved with mass spectrometry for nearly thirty years, currently serving as a Research Biological Chemist at UCLA. She has co-authored over 125 peer-reviewed scientific papers and has significantly contributed to our understanding of electrospray ionization, charging, and protein structure. Dr. Loo was one of the first to pursue the idea that ESI charge state distributions depend on protein solution phase structures. She continues to explore the fundamental aspects of ESI, proposing new mechanisms in a Critical Insights article for JASMS in 2014.

Dr. Loo has also served as a mentor to countless graduate students, postdocs and scientists and given her time to serve the mass spectrometry and greater scientific community at large.

RON HITES AWARD OUTSTANDING RESEARCH PUBLICATION IN JASMS 2020 Recipient: Stephen J. Valentine



The Ron Hites Award recognizes an outstanding publication of original research based on innovative aspects, technical and presentation quality, and likely stimulation of future research or applications. The award is named to honor Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of *JASMS* in 1988 while president of ASMS. The award includes \$2,000 and certificates.

The 2020 Ron Hites Award recognizes **Dr. Stephen Valentine**, West Virginia University and co-authors for their paper Comprehensive Peptide Ion Structure Studies Using Ion Mobility Techniques: Part 3. Relating Solution-Phase to Gas-Phase Structures; Samaneh Ghassabi Kondalaji,Mahdiar Khakinejad, Stephen J. Valentine; *J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom*. (2018) 29:1665-1677.