

## **ASMS AWARDS**

American Society for Mass Spectrometry is pleased to announce 2020 Awards. For more details please contact info@asms.org.

# BIEMANN MEDAL 2020 Recipient: Ying Ge



The Biemann Medal is awarded to an individual early in his or her career to recognize significant achievement in basic or applied mass spectrometry. The Medal is conferred at the ASMS Annual Conference with the presentation of a \$5,000 cash award, a recognition plaque, and the award lecture.

**Dr. Ying Ge** iis the recipient of the 2020 Biemann Medal for significant contributions to high-resolution mass spectrometry (MS)-based top-down proteomics and their application to cardiac diseases. Dr. Ge has demonstrated that Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance (FT-ICR) MS with electron capture dissociation (ECD) is especially useful for mapping labile post-translational modifications, and she has isotopically resolved large proteins with high mass accuracy, allowing the characterization of very large proteins directly from human heart tissues.

To address the many challenges in top-down proteomics, she has successfully developed novel strategies for protein extraction, solubility, and separation to enable comprehensive top-down MS characterization of biologically critical cardiac proteins. Her technical excellence has allowed her to make important discoveries in myofilament biology and gain novel insights into the understanding of cardiac diseases. For example, she has identified phosphorylation of cardiac troponin I and actin isoform switching as potential biomarkers for chronic heart failure by top-down MS. Dr. Ge's significant contributions to both MS-based top-down proteomics and her fundamental insights into cardiac pathologies make her an outstanding recipient of the Biemann Medal.

Dr. Ge is Professor of Cell and Regenerative Biology and Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin at Madison.

#### **RESEARCH AWARDS**

Research awards promote the research of academic scientists within the first four years of joining the tenure track or research faculty of a North American University at the time the award is conferred. The awards, in the amount of \$35,000 are fully supported by Bruker, Thermo Fisher Scientific, and Waters Corporation.



Sponsored by
BRUKER
2020 Recipient
Jace Jones
University of Maryland



Sponsored by
THERMO FISHER
SCIENTIFIC
2020 Recipient
Miklos Guttman
University of
Washington



Sponsored by
WATERS CORPORATION
2020 Recipient
Ian K. Webb
Indiana University

#### RESEARCH AT PRIMARILY UNDERGRADUATE INSTITUTION (PUI) RESEARCH AWARD

2020 RECIPIENT: CHRISTINE HUGHEY SPONSORED BY AGILENT TECHNOLOGIES

This award promotes academic research in mass spectrometry by faculty members and their students at primarily undergraduate institutions (PUIs). The award of \$20,000 is made to the recipient's institution on behalf of the recipient's research.



2020 Recipient Christine Hughey James Madison University

### 2020 POSTDOCTORAL CAREER DEVELOPMENT AWARDS

Postdoctoral Career Development Awards in the amount of \$5,000 promote the professional career development of postdoctoral fellows in the field of mass spectrometry.



2020 Recipient

Juan Aristizabal Henao

University of Florida



2020 Recipient **Wout Bittremieux**  *University of California -San Diego* 



2020 Recipient **Kevin Clark** Beckman Institute for Advanced Science & Technology







2020 Recipient Lindsay Pino University of Pennsylvania